Sciatic Foramina

Greater and lesser sciatic notches are converted into foramina by sacrotuberous and sacrospinous ligaments.

Identify the greater and lesser sciatic foramina and ischial spine on the pelvis shown. Name two muscles that attach onto the ischial spine.


The greater sciatic foramen is divided into two compartments by the Piriformis muscle namely the Infrapiriformic and Suprapiriformic compartments below and above the muscle respectively.


What structures transerve the foramina indicated below ?
Infrapiriformic Suprapiriformic Lesser sciatic foramen


Note that the pudendal nerve and internal pudendal vessels exit the pelvis through greater sciatic foramen and enter the perineum through the lesser sciatic foramen.

Gluteal region and back of the thigh

Home | Gross Anatomy | Topic index