Muscles of the foot:

The muscles of the foot are arranged in four layers:


First layer:
  • Abdductor digiti minimi (A)
  • Flexor digitorum brevis (B)
  • Abductor hallucis (C)

Second Layer:
  • Lumbricals (a)
  • Tendon of flexor hallucis (b)
  • Tendon of flexor digitorum brevis (c)
  • Flexor accesorius (d)



Third layer:
  • Adductor hallucis (a)- transverse head, ( b)- oblique head)
  • Flexor digiti minimi (b)
  • Flexor hallucis brevis (c)

Fourth layer:
  • Tendon of peroneus longus
  • Tendon of tibialis posterior
  • Planter and dorsal interossei (b)

CHAPTER 12: The Foot